Explanation of KHSRA State Finals Awards & Points

Congratulations! You have qualified to compete in the KHSRA State Finals Rodeo, which will be held in at the Kansas Star Arena in Mulvane, KS.



State Finals will consist of two long go-arounds and a final go-around. All contestants will compete in two long go's. The Finals short go, is for the top 15 contestants who have earned the greatest number of points during the entire year. This will be determined at the end of the 2nd long go.

<u>State Finals Average Prize Winners</u> will be the top contestants after two goarounds of competition at the state finals. State Finals Average **points** will be determined and awarded after the end of the final round of competition on Saturday evening.

Year-End winners will be determined by the points brought into the finals plus all points earned at the Finals, (1st go + 2nd go + 3rd go (short round) + average of the finals.)

We will have Go-Around Winners, State Finals Champions, and Year-End Winners. Everyone who participates in state finals this year will receive a finalist coat.

The following is the point breakdown for the Finals:

Maximum points possible to carry into the finals	110
First Go-Around points given to top 10 in 1 st go	
Second Go-Around points given to top 10 in 2 nd go	
Final Go-Around points given to top 10 in final go (short go)	
Finals Average points given to top 10 after 3 rounds of competition	

	POINTS AVAILABLE AT STATE FINALS	
Place	Each	Finals
	Go-around	Average
1	10	15
2	9	13.5
3	8	12
4	7	10.5
5	6	9
6	5	7.5
7	4	6
8	3	4.5
9	2	3
10	1	1.5

A brief explanation of our point system: Contestants may carry in points from their best 11 rodeos (max 110 points).

A maximum of 45 points can be earned during the three go-arounds and the average. Each of the three go-arounds is worth 10 points given to the top 10 individuals and the average is worth 15 points broken down as shown in the table. The balance of the points will be given to the top eight year-end winners in each event.